Happy Feet can DANCE

The trials, emotions and fun times of a family with lots of 'happy feet' Helping other parents of children with Talipes (club feet)

Baby Number 2…..

on March 1, 2013

So there we were with our lovely little family.. our Jessica was absolutely the light of our lives but we felt like we wanted to add to our family.. and so in December 2010 I discovered that I was pregnant.. to say the three of us were excited was an understatement.. to say I was nervous was one too.. .it had been 5 and a half years since I had had Jessica and I was apprehensive at changing our family dynamic.  We were our own little team and we got on great as we were.. could I possibly ever love anyone else as much?

We had a private scan at 11 weeks to check everything was going ok as I just simply couldn’t wait until the NHS scan at 14 weeks.. Everything was as it should be – heartbeat – phew.. now it seemed real. We decided to tell Jessica at this point as she had already started asking me questions about my ‘bloated tummy’.  Her reaction was amazing..I think because she had a scan photo to look at it made it all the more real… she also cried her eyes out and was a little overwhelmed at the prospect of having a baby brother or sister – telling her was just awesome!

At the 13 week scan, the sonographer confirmed as the 11 week scan had – all ok but also added that we would be called back for a 16 week scan due to us already having a child with talipes.  Now I could understand this extra scan, to a point, but part of me didn’t want to know.  We went along to the extra scan at 16 weeks and looked at the positive – that we would get to see our little baby again. If I were to tell you that I wasn’t nervous then I would also be a liar – but what mum to be isn’t when going to any scan?

During our scan I feel guilty that I had my fingers crossed and was praying with all of my being – that the baby would have a healthy heartbeat? of course, that the brain, spine and all other vital organs would look ok? absolutely.. but at the forefront of my mind was that the baby might have talipes like Jessica.

The sonographer was a very ‘matter-of-fact’ individual.  She was very straight faced and I really wished at the time that she could have at least smiled a little, if not to ease my nerves.  But, she had a job to do and was of course very professional.

“Oh yes, I can see that there looks to be Talipes on the left foot, I’ll have a look at the right………”

and there it was.. the news I had dreaded.. We would yet again embark on our journey through having a newborn with talipes.. and unfortunately this time I knew what this meant for both my baby but also, us as parents.. and this time I cried….and cried… and cried…

We didn’t mention to Jessica that the baby had talipes.  We decided that she just didn’t need to know yet, but unfortunately one day she overheard me talking about it to a friend and she realised that the baby in my tummy had feet like hers.. she cried.  I was so devastated to realise how much she understood about her feet – that doesn’t make sense I know.. but because we had never really made a big deal about it – not in front of her anyway.. because we had always acted like it was just normal in our family, I had never before seen her cry about her feet.. and I realised what a tough little cookie she had been and also how kind and thoughtful she was.

“I don’t want our baby to have to wear boots and bar mummy” were her words.. but we had a chat and I told her how special she was, and also how proud we were of her.. I also reassured her that her baby brother or sister would have a brilliant big sister to prove to them that they had nothing to be frightened of or to worry about, after all our baby Happy Feet would dance just like their sister does..

This conversation with my little girl made me realise how strong talipes can make the character of young people.. they just get on with it and as their mummy, that’s just what I do.

There are far more important things in life to spend time worrying about than feet!

We were sooo sooo excited to finally meet this new addition and we decided to name the baby in my ‘belly’ ……….’Happy Feet’

Exciting times ahead – and more work for Jane, the physio.. but hey! at least she knew us xx


One response to “Baby Number 2…..

  1. Tracey says:

    Such an inspiration post my son was also born with unilateral talipes he is also called Max and is 16 months old xx

Leave a comment