Happy Feet can DANCE

The trials, emotions and fun times of a family with lots of 'happy feet' Helping other parents of children with Talipes (club feet)

Proof that Happy Feet can Dance x

on March 1, 2013

When I was a little girl, my mum had taken me to dancing lessons.. I remember starting these at around the age of 3 and I absolutely loved it.. I started with tap and then began modern -very much the typical drama queen little girl..

When  I had a daughter I was thrilled at the prospect that she too may be a girly girl like her mummy and that she too would also want to dance and sing and generally love all of the razmataz of it all so I was determined that through her treatment, I would be strong – and strict so that I could ensure that she too could do anything she wanted to do, girly or not.. hey if my girl wanted to be a footballer, mountain climber.. I wanted nothing to stand in her way..

Jessica and her little friends joined their ballet school when they were just 3.. To take her and see her in her little ballet shoes with her straight feet was just the best feeling ever.. she was just like her friends and loved every minute of it..

ems 255

 

The night of her first ever show came.  It was Snow White and she was in around 5 of the dance numbers.. she was just three and a half years old.. I had no idea what to expect.. maybe her waving at us standing there doing her own little moves, or maybe even tears if she spotted us in the audience – nothing could prepare me for how we would feel..

Our Happy Feet baby girl walked on the stage with her friends in the cutest of costumes and danced her little heart out!  She knew dances I  had never seen her practice and danced and sang remembering every step and word!

In any parents eyes, this would be an emotional sight.. but given all the fears we had had about her feet, walking and running.. to see her dancing, ballet dancing at that was just the most magical sight.. so you see

HAPPY FEET CAN DANCE!!!!

 

ems 077 ems 076


Leave a comment