Happy Feet can DANCE

The trials, emotions and fun times of a family with lots of 'happy feet' Helping other parents of children with Talipes (club feet)

When it all started….

on February 8, 2013

When I met my hubby it was a standing joke (pardon the pun) that I wouldn’t marry him as he had scars on his feet and I ‘didn’t do feet’  I had been paranoid as a child of someone cutting my feet or stretching my tendons..funny how things turn out… years on we have two beautiful children and I am constantly aware of stretching tendons and feet operations!

I could not have been happier when I found I was expecting a baby.. I had all of the usual tests and scans and it was only when I received a call from my midwife about the results of my 16 week blood test that things didn’t look so positive.. she told me that the chance of our baby having spina bifida had come back as a borderline score.. of course she told us not to worry (which was an impossible request) and informed us that we would be scanned by a consultant to ensure thorough checks were done.. the scan was a week later..

That was the longest week of my life.. I read everything I could find about spina bifida as I had no idea what it was – during this reading, my hubby and I came across information on talipes… as he had had it when he was born we read further.. it mentioned that this could be hereditary so we decided to ask the consultant to look to see if our baby had it..

Thank goodness. the scan showed that our baby did not have spina bifida.. but it did show that our baby had a fine pair of ‘happy feet’.

This would be so worrying to some parents.. but we were so relieved that’s ‘all’ that it was, we were almost thrilled.. My hubby was living proof to me that my baby would still live a normal life.. he had ran for his county in 100 mtrs sprints and also played football semi pro so I had no worries  and maybe that’s why I never really allowed Jessica to feel anything but normal, because in our eyes she is…


Leave a comment